

The NDSA Innovation Awards recognize projects, institutions, and individuals making an innovative contribution to digital stewardship.

This year's five recipients are exemplars of the creativity, diversity, and collaboration essential to supporting the digital community as it works to preserve and make available digital materials.

Special thanks to the Innovation Awards Action Team:

Rachel Frick, Digital Library Federation
Jason Kucsma, Metropolitan New York Library Council
Jennifer Ricker, State Library of North Carolina
Barbara Taranto, New York Public Library
Jefferson Bailey, Library of Congress



Innovation Award: Future Steward

Mat Kelly

Mat is a Mobile Applications Developer and Programmer at NASA Langley Research Center & Graduate Student in Computer Science at Old Dominion University.

Recognized for WARCreate, a Google Chrome extension that allows users to create a Web ARChive (WARC) file from any browseable webpage.

http://warcreate.com



Innovation Award: Individual

Peter Krogh

Mr. Krogh is a professional photographer and chair of the Digital Standards Committee at American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP).

Recognized for his work on *The DAM Book*, the dpBestflow website and as an author and producer for the Shutha project, each of which have helped raise awareness and make information on digital preservation practices accessible to photographers.

http://dpbestflow.org/

http://www.thedambook.com/

http://shutha.org/



Innovation Award: Individual

Dr. Anthony Cocciolo

Dr. Coccilio is an Assistant Professor in the Pratt Institute School of Information and Library Science.

Recognized for his innovative approaches to teaching digital preservation practices, in particular his work partnering classes with archival institutions to work on the digitization and digital preservation of analog audio collections.

http://www.thinkingprojects.org/



Innovation Award: Project

AIMS: An Inter-Institutional Model for Stewardship







Yale

Accepting: Bradley Daigle, University of Virginia Additional Project Members: Glynn Edwards, Kevin Glick, Judy Burg, Chris Awre, Peter Chan, Gretchen Gueguen, Liz Gushee, Tom Laudeman, Mark Matienzo, and Simon Wilson

Recognized for their work developing a framework for stewarding born-digital content and filling the gap between applying standards such as OAIS and the necessary workflows and tools for implementation.

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/aims



Innovation Award: Institution

State Library and State Archives of North Carolina, part of the North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources

Accepting: Lisa Gregory

Additional Project Members: Kelly Eubank,, Kathleen Kenney, Amy

Rudersdorf, Rachel Trent

Recognized for their work educating state employees and information professionals on digital preservation through their website, online tutorials, and @digpres411 Twitter account.

http://digitalpreservation.ncdcr.gov/

http://www.youtube.com/user/statelibrarync

@digpres411